Chicken and Steamed Broccoli

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like Chicken and Steamed Broccoli for quick dinner after I get home from a long day at work. I cut up the chicken into small strips so that I can fry it up quickly. I salt and pepper the chicken and and fry it in Watkins Garlic Parsley Grapeseed Oil. It usually fries up in 15 minutes or less. I have digital thermometer that use to know when it is done. 

After I get the chicken going. I chop up the broccoli, and throw it in the pot with the steamer and water underneath it. The broccoli  takes about 8-10 minutes  depending on how soft you like it. Some times when I have some cheddar in my fridge I through that on top when the broccoli when it is just about done…but be careful how you do this because I have found that if you do not time it right the cheese melts off the broccoli into the water you are using to steam with and you have cheesy water rather than cheesy broccoli. Otherwise I just throw butter on the broccoli after I pull it out of the pot.

Nutritional Bonus:

”Broccoli is vegetable royalty… This superstar vegetable has been lauded for its cancer-fighting power so many times that it’s a celebrity in the nutrition world.” In addition to its cancer fighting ability, broccoli is a nutritional powerhouse. On cup of broccoli contains the following: [1]

  • 2 grams of protein
  • 2 grams of fiber
  • 288 mg potassium
  • 43 mg of calcium
  • 81 mg of vitamin C
  • folate
  • magnesium
  • phosphorous
  • beta-carotene
  • vitamin A
  • 1,277 mcg of lutein and zeaxanthin (superstars of eye nutrition)

 



~ by happydeviant on October 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
